Attitude of Gratitude

So, in the past 6 months, I have had the following happen to me:

  • I lost my well paying job of 5 years
  • Fell down a flight of stairs and suffered a concussion
  • Received $8K in medical bills due to lack of insurance
  • Now, forced to couch surf and sublet as I cannot afford my rent

Sounds pretty shitty, right?? Especially when you factor in that I try to do my karmic duties by supporting a child in India, volunteer teaching yoga at The Women\’s Building, being vegetarian and trying to be an overall good person.   Where’s the justice I ask???

Just when I was feeling all martyred and sad-I went to the bookstore and came across Half the Sky.  This amazing book outlines the tragedies that women face worldwide from prostitution to sex trafficking to being killed in retaliation for crimes by the men in their family.  A woman in Somalia is worth less than a camel -most husbands in Cameroon won’t pay the $100 for a caesarean delivery to save the life of their wives-a woman’s testimony in court is worth 1/2 of a man’s in Iran.

After finishing these horrific stories and those of the NGOs and organizations that are trying to fix them, I suddenly had some real perspective.

So, while I may be a bit down-I realize I have the kindness of friends who will let me sleep on their sofa-ones who will buy me lunch from time to time-amazing people who hug me in yoga and assure me it will all be OK.  And, in 20 days, I’ll get to put on costumes and tutus and pasties and celebrate being a women who is free, healthy and loved.

And how could I not be filled with gratitude for that??

4 thoughts on “Attitude of Gratitude

  1. Autumn,

    I’d like to offer you a room on the yacht here in Emeryville if you need a place to stay. You have the most amazing energy and I know it would energize the boat and everyone around here. We’re all grateful for those things we’re blessed with, and I feel blessed and grateful knowing you. Your fights are righteous, so don’t let it bring you down. You are frickin’ fantastic!

    scott

  2. Autumn,

    You are truly one of the most amazing people I know. Your energy, kindness and strength will pull you through to a place of which you are rightly deserving. Stay strong.

    Amy

  3. Autumn, I love you girl. Your blog post made me cry! Still sniffling!! You are stronger than you know. Keep your head up sister. We are all circling you with our love and support now and always. xoxo, Barcellos

Leave a Reply

