Who’s your Soulmate, baby?

You can’t get through life without a Soulmate.  I am lucky enough to have more than one! And, before you think I got sucked into this “Open Relationship” thing, look at the Wikipedia definition of “Soulmate” :a person with whom one has a feeling of deep and natural affinity, love, intimacy, spirituality or compatibility.

My definition is also colored by my influence from “Sex and the City”(the proper life-and-love guide for any 30-something, single woman).  On one famous episode, Charlotte (the preppy girl endlessly seeking a husband) linked arms with the other 3 girls and declared “Maybe we are each others Soulmates and guys are these nice, fun things to keep around”.

After watching this, I realized my search for my Soulmate didn’t depend on finding a man at all!  And, I began to appreciate all of the amazing people around me in all ways.  I have so many great connections with the people around me-my soul is fulfilled!

Maybe I would have been better off going by the definition in the Urban Dictionary “A soulmate is someone with whom you have a very deep connection.  It is not always easily explained.  It is a meeting of mind, heart, body and soul on the highest of levels.  Communication is at it’s easiest, as they understand you perfectly, and accept you completely with no judgements.”

Lately, I’ve had to rely more and more on my Soulmates-these amazing people around me who have supported me through thick and thin.  From places to couch surf, to Clipper cards, to lunches and drinks, to a sympathetic ear on the phone, to Michael Jackson dances -I’ve been supported.

Anytime I feel down, I reach out to these amazing souls and they will listen to me cry, tell me jokes, remind me of old funny stories and leave me fulfilled and redeemed. They make me remember the “Pittsburgh girl” they know and love-these are people I have run marathons with, traveled to Paris with, done yoga retreats with and karaoke-d with!  No matter how I may mess up, they love me and support me.

So, while the traditional idea of a Soulmate may mean a life-partner of the opposite sex, I realize I have much more-a support system of some of the strongest bad-ass women I know.

So, I honor my soulmates and give thanks as they are truly what Elizabeth Gilbert says “People think your soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants.  But, a true soul mate is a mirror, that person who shows you everything that is holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life”.

Thank you all for changing mine…..

 

One thought on “Who’s your Soulmate, baby?

  1. I love this! I have always felt that our soulmates are the people in life that stick with us. The people who love you no matter what, understand you, embrace your good, bad and unruly! You are a pioneer my friend!

Leave a Reply

