San Francisco-you are a dirty whore….

I wake up at 5:45 am twice a week to teach yoga.  These are the days when I hate this city.  I hate the fog that rolls in that makes my morning walk freezing.  I hate the fog horns blowing that wake me up *right before* my alarm goes off.

I hate the society that produces the homeless people that I step over, curled on the sidewalk, beer in hand.

I hate the economy that requires I work 2 jobs to live, one of which requires that I wake at 5:45 only to head out onto the streets of this bitch of a city that I live in.

And, I think to myself – “San Francisco-you are a dirty whore”

Then-I get to work and look up the word-Whore.

And, it states the following:
WORD HISTORY:
Derivatives of Indo-European roots have often acquired starkly contrasting meanings. A prime example is the case of the root *k-, “to like, desire.” From it was derived a stem *kro-, from which came the prehistoric Common Germanic word *hraz with the underlying meaning “one who desires” and the effective meaning “adulterer.”

 

And, I think-it’s not a surprise that I’m able to put up with all of the dirt, the expense, the filth of San Francisco.  It’s not random that I find solace within the chaos  this city is.

Because-I am ‘one who desires’.  I moved here because I desired something more, something new and unexpected and maybe even sometimes something dirty and annoying and gritty.

My desire has lead me into new experiences, new communities and new ways of thinking.  And, it’s gotten me into situations where I get a little dusty sometimes.

So, maybe just like San Francisco, maybe I am ‘one who desires’.

And, if that’s the case, I’ll happily walk her streets early in the morning-seeing the dirt and filth and wreck that she is.

But, I’ll also see her beauty-her ability to shine despite it all.  And, maybe, because of it all.

I can’t think of any other place I’d rather be a ‘whore’ in.

 

 

2 thoughts on “San Francisco-you are a dirty whore….

  1. Really cute blog setup, Autumn! I hear you on this one. Although, after so many years, I packed in the towel. So glad I did, as it helps me to appreciate the life I had there. But don’t be afraid to try other places as a way to try new things. I did, and I’m so much better for it!

    Rock on, sister!

Leave a Reply

