Ordinary People…….

The song I keep playing to my yoga students while they are savasana lately has been John Legend’s “Ordinary People”.

He talks about how difficult and almost impossible love can be and how we need to give ourselves a break because love is such a constant effort.

Love is not the fairytale we’ve been sold, often it drives us straight into hell (or it at least feels like it).

How can the average person expect to succeed??

And, more aptly, why does one even try??

Then, ironically, a friend posted this amazing poem on his Facebook page (which I guiltily peruse while I’m waiting for my students to arrive)

Because She Would Ask Me Why I Loved Her

If questioning would make us wise

No eyes would ever gaze in eyes;

If all our tale were told in speech
No mouths would wander each to each.

Were spirits free from mortal mesh
And love not bound in hearts of flesh
No aching breasts would yearn to meet
And find their ecstasy complete.

For who is there that lives and knows
The secret powers by which he grows?
Were knowledge all, what were our need
To thrill and faint and sweetly bleed?

Then seek not, sweet, the “If” and “Why”
I love you now until I die.
For I must love because I live
And life in me is what you give.

Christopher Brennan

I read it to my students before class and almost cried as I was doing it.  The sheer hope it conveys, the almost naivety  and innocence in every line came just when I needed it.  It’s that same feeling when I see a couple get married at Burning Man where you just KNOW you’ve seen something great and lasting.  Something worth throwing caution to the wind for.

And, maybe it’s like my spiritual yoga practice.  I’m praying to gods I’ve only recently learned about, I’m chanting in (probably bad) Sanskrit and convinced, totally convinced, that it makes a difference.  Yet, when life throws me a curveball and it seems nothing I do to improve things makes any difference, my instinct is to take it to the mat.  Afterwards, I feel my optimism return and my belief renewed.

So, I play John Legend to my students…..I play it after I’ve worked them hard, when I know they need something lovely that allows them to sink in and luxuriate in the moment.  And, when I remind them to really, really drop into it, I watch the collective sigh in the room.  And, my hope is that they feel the same connection I do when I sink in.  I hope they feel same assurance  even for a few moments that we are all lovable enough that someone will throw rational thought aside to give love a chance with us.

Ordinary? I think that’s pretty extraordinary actually………

Leave a Reply

