Gratitude in the Sierras

This past weekend, I was honored to be invited to camp with an amazing group of people at the High Sierra Music Festival.

This was my first time at the festival and I wasn’t sure what to expect.  Camping with people who are new to me, unsure of the experience ahead, crammed into the backseat of a Ford Focus -I was a little nervous.

“What if people aren’t as open as the Burners I’m used to”- “What if I’m stuck alone?”- “How can I get the most out of this experience?”

When I travel-I take a journal with me.  This same journal has been to Budapest, Paris, Columbo and Goa.  And, when I want an excuse to interact with someone (or, if I find someone who looks SO freaky and interesting and beautiful that I can’t resist!)-I hand them my journal.

Because of that habit, I have some of the funniest interactions ever-people tend to open up when they are asked to write something to you-and you get a little bit of connection you otherwise wouldn’t have had.

So, as a way to hide my fears, I bought a cheap $2.99 journal at Safeway and wrote on the cover page “Tell me what you’re Grateful for!” and handed it out randomly at the festival.  I gave it out in bathroom lines, face-painting stations and Silent Discos.

Kids drew pictures, a friend declared her man “King of the Jungle!”, people wrote pick-up lines and some even thanked me just for asking the question.

A cute boy wrote “I’m grateful I was asked why I am grateful” – a kid wrote ‘I’m grateful for ice cream on a hot summer day”

People gave me their phone numbers, email addresses and even acknowledged our quick connection “I’m grateful for great shared energy and special times with you”

Someone advised me “Shake your booty” and a great hippy wrote “I am grateful for such a rocking cool chick to remind me to stay present and Grateful”

I realized, we are all just one question away from real connection with other beings in really great ways.  And, sometimes, taking a little risk to talk to a stranger with a wrinkled $2.99 journal can create a great experience.

 

Leave a Reply

