The Yoga of Mercury in Retrograde

February was almost a full month where Mercury was in retrograde.  If you’re somewhat of a hippie yogini like me-you take stock in this and quite possibly begin to manifest the exact things you dread happening.

This time, it got me good.  I had communication breakdowns in almost every area of my life and, it seemed, then harder I tried to communicate properly-the worse I did.

But, what in the hell is Mercury Retrograde anyway? I went to the fine people at Cafe Astrology to find out.  ‘3-4 times a year, the planet Mercury appears to be moving backward in the sky for a period of approximately 3 weeks……As the planet of communication, Mercury retrograde tends to breed a certain level of confusion.’

imageMine resulted in misread and misinterpreted communications both coming to and from me and I felt myself either apologizing or being apologized to when both parties had the best of intentions.

I found myself questioning everything I said yet still receiving harsh comments from people I knew were well-meaning.

Luckily, I was able to book a flight to Mexico in a place that’s off the grid and only solar and wind powered and where Internet and phone are iffy.  I’ve been dreaming of getting out (like I could escape this cycle by relocating.)

Then I went to an amazing yoga class with Mark Morford where he focused on grounding and stability and explained that everything everything we do on the yoga mat translates to what we do in life.  And, he stressed that how we react to instability, to falling over, to stumbling in our yoga practice reflects how we handle it in life.

So, I stumbled and fell and cursed under my breath but was aware that when I let go and accepted -my practice became more stable and my breath calmed.

Shit happens-Mercury retrograde happens:   You gotta ride the waves with calm breath and accept it for what it is-the opportunity to find your stability and strength.

As for me, I’ll be in Mexico in 2 days-finding my balance on a Stand Up Paddleboard.

i hope I can hang on ……..

One thought on “The Yoga of Mercury in Retrograde

Leave a Reply

