Bitches Have Stitches

This is what my brother said after I sent him (yet another) photo of my leg after my 3rd surgery- swollen and covered with yet another set of bloody sutures. After looking at it, he said it simply “Bitches Have Stitches Girl!’

And,he’s right.

I AM a bitch.MarilynBitch

I’m a high-energy, big attitude girl from Pittsburgh, PA who speaks before I think and who’s hyperactivity leaves everyone in the dust.

I control this by running 6+ miles a day and taking hard, intense 90 minute Vinyasa yoga classes 5+ times a week.

All to temper my internal bitch.

But, when I have my routine down-I can be almost zen-like.

I find myself calmer, sweeter and an all around better person

Because of my stitches (and the wounds they cover) -I cannot run. I cannot even do Child’s Pose in yoga.

Yesterday, my exercise goal was to walk around the block and do errands and, doing so left me exhausted and sore.

This made me feel really bitchy.

And fearful!

What would happen to me if I could no longer run, power through 2 hour yoga classes, and return to a high pressure job that pays for my SF lifestyle?

Who AM I if I’m not my yoga butt in LuluLemons or looking buff in my Burning Man tutus?

Lucky for me-I have a strong, proud bitch of a friend from Detroit who set me straight.

MadonnaYogaWe drank wine and checked out my old issue of W with heavily enhanced photos of Madonna and talked about women and bodies and aging.

And we talked about our mutual fears on getting older, loosing whatever beauty we have, and what that means in our society.

Then we talked about what REALLY matters-that we love Madonna not for her amazing body but her rebellious nature-that we think Notorious RBG (http://notoriousrbg.tumblr.com/ ) is an example of a strong woman-we talked about what we admired in each other and how we want to change the world (and the city we live in).

Make no mistake, this is a high pressure city when it comes to body and image and even the most grounded yogini can get all wrapped up in it! And, sometimes the process of achieving that physical goal leaves room for little else like meditation, seva (the art of selfless service) and introspection.

Without my physical activities to take up my day (and, honestly to feed my ego)-I realized the bitch in me could focus on other things. Things like creating change through volunteer work and starting my dream business of retreats with lectures by holistically-minded doctors.

Lucky for me, I was in the presence of another bitch who shares my passion for changing our healthcare system and has the balls to do it. We discussed our frustrations with our image-based society and our goals to shake up the status quo.

Then we toasted and celebrated the bitch in each of us.

So, yes, this bitch has stitches. I’ve got some good stories and a posse full of bad asses to support me too.

And that makes me feel less bitchy….

Leave a Reply

