Wings Flapping

Two things happened with birds this week for meMelsPhoenix2

First off-I’m not a big FAN of birds……there’s a creepy guy who stands outside of my apartment everyday so it feels like an Alfred Hitchcock movie every time I walk out of the house

But, on my Monday night run with my SF Hash House Harriers-I found this mural

Ironically, it’s by an artist worked next to a yoga studio where I used to teach (Mel Waters of Dean’s Tattoo Headquarters)MelWaters.jpeg

When I saw him beginning to work on it months ago-  we connected over art and yoga and life

When I worked by his tattoo studio, I was newer to teaching yoga and still a bit naive

Maybe he was naive too:  so now when we reconnected over his Phoenix mural and discussed the current tough life of an artist in SF-we both talked of the easier times before

Such is the sad story of San Francisco these days

On Monday-seeing his completed work and knowing he was being paid well for it-felt like a good sign

I guess the Phoenix is my bird!

Then tonight-I went to an AMAZING talk by Lynne Twist- author of ‘The Soul of Money‘, co-founder of the Pachamama Alliance and spiritual seeker who has done Ayhauasca in the Amazon

The talk was on Conscious Money but I was thrilled when a woman asked the question conscious feminism

Lynne answered by telling the following story about ‘The Bird of Humanity’

The Baha’i Faith has a theory on the equality of men and women:

The world of humanity has two wings – one is women and the other men. Not until both wings are equally developed can the bird fly. Should one wing remain weak, flight is impossible. Not until the world of women becomes equal to the world of men in the acquisition of virtues and perfections, can success and prosperity be attained as they ought to be.MelsPhoenix1

She went on to explain that we’ve been unbalanced, with the male wing flapping and working overtime to keep us upright (I’ve felt this both in my day job in corporate America and in the ego-filled world of yoga)

The female (softer) side has been underused

But, predictions have been that in this 21st century -both sides will come back into balance

The female wing will become stronger as we value those characteristics (softness, caring, femininity)

And the male side (power, strength) can finally take a break

Then, a more conscious-balanced society can occur

And the Phoenix can rise…………

 

Leave a Reply

